Mission: To Seek and Share Inspiration

14_Fireworks2550x482.jpg (1)

Orchestral Fireworks

March 1-2, 2019

Program and Description

DVOŘÁK: The Midday Witch
STRAVINSKY: Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments
SUK: Scherzo fantastique 
JANÁČEK:  Sinfonietta


What’s interesting about this concert:

• The CSO welcomes legendary English conductor Sir Mark Elder to the podium.
• Inspired by Czech lore, The Midday Witch tells of a witch’s promised visit when bells strike noon.
• Stravinsky’s pronouncement that “strings and piano…do not sound well together,” leads to the unusual basses-only setup of Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments.
• The spectacle of Janáček's Sinfonietta, with its company of 25 brass players, should be seen as much as heard.

This concert is part of Series 2.

Concerts for the curious: Guest-curated surprises surround your experience.    

Get inside the minds of composers and to the heart of the music with Classical Conversations, one hour before Friday, Saturday and Sunday Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra subscription concerts.

Concert Duration: Approx. 1 hour, 50 minutes with intermission


Fri. March 1, 2019 | 8:00 PM

Sat. March 2, 2019 | 8:00 PM

Subscribers get early access and priority seating


Venue: Music Hall

1241 Elm Street Cincinnati, OH 45202

  • parking225.jpg


  • seatingchart225x225.jpg

    Seating Chart

  • dining225x225.jpg


  • tickets225x225.jpg

    Ticket Discounts