Mission: to seek and share inspiration

Sir_Andrew2550x482.jpg (1)

Sir Andrew Davis Celebrates CSO's History

January 06-07

Program and Description

BACH: Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme ("Sleepers Wake"), arr. Stokowski
BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 3
GOOSSENS: Symphony No. 2

The world-renowned conductor Sir Andrew Davis leads the CSO in a program that links luminaries from the CSO’s past. Beethoven’s stormy Piano Concerto No. 3, performed by the legendary Garrick Ohlsson, is book-ended by Bach’s sacred cantata chorale Sleepers Wake, arranged for orchestra by Leopold Stokowski, CSO Music Director from 1909-1912, and the visceral Symphony No. 2 by Eugene Goossens, CSO Music Director from 1931-1947.


Get inside the minds of composers and to the heart of the music with Classical Conversations, one hour before Friday, Saturday and Sunday Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra subscription concerts.


Sat. January 6, 2018 | 8:00 PM

Sun. January 7, 2018 | 2:00 PM

Subscribe and save


Venue: Music Hall

1241 Elm Street Cincinnati, OH 45202

  • parking225.jpg


  • seatingchart225x225.jpg

    Seating Chart

  • dining225x225.jpg


  • tickets225x225.jpg

    Ticket Discounts