Prokofiev + Beethoven

April 14-15, 2018

Program and Description

PIERRE JALBERT: Passage (World Premiere)
PROKOFIEV: Violin Concerto No. 1
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 4

We continue to glimpse Beethoven’s influence on the future of music through the prism of this multi-year symphony cycle. Beethoven’s Symphony No. 4, a work of infectious joy, will get a modern-day response in a world premiere commission by Pierre Jalbert. Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 1 inspires the imagination of the listener, and features Karen Gomyo, a violinist of “real musical command, vitality, brilliance and intensity” (Chicago Tribune).

Get inside the minds of composers and to the heart of the music with Classical Conversations, one hour before Friday, Saturday and Sunday Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra subscription concerts.

 The CSO's three-year Beethoven symphony cycle, paired with works that are a modern mirror to his influence.


Sat. April 14, 2018 | 8:00 PM

Sun. April 15, 2018 | 2:00 PM

Subscribe and save!


Venue: Music Hall

1241 Elm Street Cincinnati, OH 45202

  • parking225.jpg


  • seatingchart225x225.jpg

    Seating Chart

  • dining225x225.jpg


  • tickets225x225.jpg

    Ticket Discounts