Mission: To Seek and Share Inspiration


Fragments, Dreams

March 15, 2019

Program and Description

Pierre Boulez called the dreamy score to Debussy's popular Prélude the beginning of modern music. The musing of the Faun, inspired by Mallarmé's poem of the same name, begins a program of musical collages: sounds by prolific Czech composer Bohuslav Martinů, a faithful reconstruction of a Beethoven Quintet—once only in fragments—and Brahms' supremely expressive A minor String Quartet.

DEBUSSY arr. Judy Loman: Prélude à l'aprés-midi d'un faune for Flute and Harp
Randolph Bowman, flute
Gillian Benet Sella, harp

MARTINŮ: Sonata for Two Violins and Piano, H. 213
Gabriel Pegis, violin
Rachel Charbel, violin
Garret Ross, piano

BEETHOVEN: Quintet for Three Horns, Oboe and Bassoon
Christopher Philpotts, oboe
Elizabeth Freimuth, horn
Lisa Conway, horn
Charles Bell, horn
Jennifer Monroe, bassoon

BRAHMS: String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 51
Kun Dong, violin
Rebecca Kruger Fryxell, violin
Rebecca Barnes, viola
Susan Marshall-Petersen, cello

All Seats are General Admission


Fri. March 15, 2019 | 7:30 PM



Venue: Music Hall

1241 Elm Street Cincinnati, OH 45202

  • parking225.jpg


  • seatingchart225x225.jpg

    Seating Chart

  • dining225x225.jpg


  • tickets225x225.jpg

    Ticket Discounts