Mission: To seek and share inspiration


Love Triangle

December 1, 2017

Program and Description

The CSO Chamber Players present an ethereal interpretation of Debussy’s operatic Pelléas et Mélisande, the same work the CSO performed in its entirety earlier this season. This dramatic program continues with a chamber adaptation of Prokofiev’s ballet Trapèze, as well as the witty and rhythmic Trio by British composer Madeleine Dring. The program concludes with the restless Third Piano Quartet, music Brahms composed while enduring his own love triangle with the Schumanns—as his dear friend Robert grew ill, Brahms pined for Clara.

Debussy: Pelléas et Mélisande
arr. Henri Mouton

Eric Bates, violin
Matthew Lad, cello
Ronald Aufmann, clarinet
James Lambert, double bass
Julie Spangler, piano

Prokofiev: Quintet in G Minor for Winds and Strings, Op. 39
Lon Bussell, oboe
Benjamin Freimuth, clarinet
Kathryn Woolley, violin
Rebecca Barnes, viola
Boris Astafiev, double bass

Dring: Trio for Flute, Oboe and Piano
Amy Taylor, flute
Christopher Philpotts, oboe

Heather MacPhail, piano

Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 60
Anna Reider, violin
Christian Colberg, viola
Ilya Finkelshteyn, cello
Daniel Culnan, piano

All Seats are General Admission



Venue: Music Hall

1241 Elm Street Cincinnati, OH 45202

  • parking225.jpg


  • seatingchart225x225.jpg

    Seating Chart

  • dining225x225.jpg


  • tickets225x225.jpg

    Ticket Discounts