Concerts & Events Music & Musicians Plan Your Experience Support & Volunteer Education & Community Partners About Us
      Follow Me on Pinterest  
Performances | Tickets from $12
FRI OCT 11, 2013 | 8:00 PM
  SAT OCT 12, 2013 | 8:00 PM

Asher Fisch conductor
Alisa Weilerstein cello


Artist-in-residence Alisa Weilerstein, winner of the prestigious MacArthur Foundation Genius Grant in 2011 and an artist who “performs with soulful expression and physical abandon,” performs a Baroque-era favorite, Haydn’s First Cello Concerto. Dramatic, operatic music is a specialty of conductor Asher Fisch, and he delivers Wagner’s transcendent Parsifal Prelude, relating the mysteries of the Grail and its Brotherhood of Knights. Strauss’ “Woman Without a Shadow” suite is a splendid summary of this multi-layered work, and his popular Suite from Der Rosenkavalier (“Knight of the Rose”) opens with whooping horns, heralding a night of intensely passionate music.

Program | Music Hall 513.381.3300
WAGNER: Prelude to Act I of Parsifal
HAYDN: Cello Concerto No. 1
R. STRAUSS: Suite from Die Frau ohne Schatten
R. STRAUSS: Suite from Der Rosenkavalier



Untitled Document
The Louise Dieterle Nippert Musical Arts Fund
  Concerts & Events Support & Volunteer Tickets Education & Community About Us  
  CSO Donate Single Tickets Young People's Concerts Contact Us  
Pops Annual Fund CSO Series Educator Workshops Privacy Policy  
CSO Chamber Players Special Funds Pops Series Musicians in Schools E-News  
Lollipops Family Concerts Endowing the Future Group Sales Youth Orchestra Music Hall  
Open Door Concerts Corporate Support Box Office Info Nouveau Chamber Players    
Community Concerts Volunteer        
Spectrum Friends of the Pops Conductors Media Room    
Parties of Note Multi-Cultural Musicians Releases    
    CSOEncore! Store Noteworthy    
Copyright 2014 Cincinnati Symphony & Pops Orchestra
1241 Elm St. Cincinnati, OH 45202
General Information 513.621.1919 Box Office 513.381.3300